Bulk Mexican Food

Bea recommends that you just stop cooking food that requires you to buy pre-packaged ingredients. To be honest, that’s easy for her to say, seeing as how she’s French, and French staples and comfort foods are pretty easy to prepare from the package-less stuff I see at my local Whole Foods.

But that “tip” basically requires me to stop cooking Mexican food. My food. My comfort meals. My culinary heritage. And to that I say, no thanks!

There are just some pre-packaged ingredients that are completely irreplaceable: corn tortillas (for me, anyway), chili powders, and hominy immediately come to mind. Sure, I only make pozole about once a year, and hominy is balls expensive in Canada anyways, but that one pot of soup is really important to me. Those bags that my tortillas de maiz come in are insignificant compared to the gratification of being able to eat what’s inside.

There is a lot that you can do in bulk, though:

  • Beans
  • Salsas
  • Taco toppings (cilantro, onion, tomato, etc)
  • Some seasonings
  • Veggies (cucumber, radishes, spicy pickled veggies, nopales, etc)
  • Fruits (mango, citrus, avocado, berries, etc)
  • Meats
  • Crema/queso (depending on where you live; or, salad bar cheese for the American stuff)
  • Masa
  • Nuts
  • Potatoes

Once I’m further along in my transition, I’ll probably attempt some recipes using mostly bulk items and document them here for posterity.

Asian food is good for my palate and GI, American/American-European food is good for my wallet, and Mexican food is good for my soul. You’ll have to rip the comal out of my cold, dead, hands.

Next up is my first taco-making adventure with ZW in mind…

2 thoughts on “Bulk Mexican Food

    • That’s true, but I’m also looking to walk the walk as far as plastic goes. I’ve talked about hating plastic for a long time, but I feel ready to step up and start making a move. I mean, they can technically be recycled along with bread bags and grocery bags, which is probably what I’ll end up doing with them… but I would like to get to the point where recycling is a last resort instead of extra credit.

      Like

Comments are closed.