4 Weeks of Trash

This is currently what 4 weeks of trash looks like for me.

Wow.

I have to say that I’m pretty proud of myself, to be honest.

What’s in there, though?

Medicine, straws, non-recylable mailers, envelope windows (which I tear/cut out now), the occasional wrapper and sticker backing, and coated fliers (like that one from my piercer and also the aftercare pamphlet;  he probably wouldn’t have let me out of the studio unless I took it with me, which is a good thing).

The nasal spray was being taken on a trial basis and proved to be completely ineffective, so that’s not going in the trash anymore. The piercing stuff, Degree stick, also that natural stone tile I can assure you are also rare/one-time items (I’ll be using alum stones once my current stick is used up). The plastic straws are soon being replaced with a stainless, reusable one, and I just don’t see myself buying foil-wrapped snacks again any time soon either. Not with peanut-butter pretzels and apple chips available in bulk, that is!

At any rate, this is about my current trash output, not including what I generate at the studio, which is incredibly minimal also. That waste basket in the photo is 8″ across and 6″ tall, though. And I intend on keeping such receptacles in my life that small.

What about the rest of it? Well, I have a personal recycling basket in my room that is only about twice the size of this one, though it’s also been filled over the course of the last 4 weeks, and I also compost now. Posts on that will be forthcoming.

2 thoughts on “4 Weeks of Trash

  1. Impressive! Your community must have a pretty robust recyling program to handle all the rest. Kudos for that. My recent improvement in recycling was to realize the little white/blue/pink sweetner packets should be brought home and recycled. Not much, but reminds me of what I impact when I’m out :)

    Like

Comments are closed.