Vegan Protein

Something I’ve discovered over the course of the past year is just how cheap and easy plant-based sources of protein are to prepare. In fact, I consider myself spoiled now: preparing and cooking animal protein at home is too much work for too little payoff for me anymore! I rarely even make eggs, I’m so lazy. (And yet, I find the motivation to bake a loaf of bread for the household every week. Go figure.)

I don’t know what to call my diet, but I like snappy lingo so I’ve been trying to come up with a name. “Pre-industrial Diet” sounds close enough, as I eat meat very sparingly and mostly rely on cheese for animal fats and proteins at home. The rest comes from various whole grains, oats, seeds and legumes.

For my baking and making things like pancakes, I’ve found vegan binders to be indispensable. I don’t need to have eggs on hand for breads anymore– and why would I, when flax meal is cheaper and lasts much longer than eggs if kept in the freezer?

The fact of the matter is that plant-based protein sources are also relatively easy to find in plastic-free packaging, bulk, or no packaging at all. And if it does come in plastic, the odds are that it will contain no fats for toxic lipophilic additives to leach into.

So for those of us who are relatively new to this style of cooking, there’s always something to learn about some humble vegetable or grain that we thought we previously knew everything about. For instance, did you know that a cup of green peas has 8g of protein, plus a bunch of other nutritional and agricultural benefits? I didn’t!

The infographic below isn’t an advertisement or anything (well, I mean, it is) but I do find it immensely helpful, and you might too. I guess they sell vegan protein shakes? Anyways…

0821-Protein-Infographic-5-lower-res

One thought on “Vegan Protein

Comments are closed.