Farmer’s Market Salad

Tomatoes, cukes, avocado, mizuna, micro greens, raw pepitas, sprouted lentils, and pearl couscous mix with a so-so dressing I attempted to whip up.

I was hunting around for a leafy salad green and mizuna is all they had. I don’t think I’ve had it before–if I have, it would have been in a bagged mix–and it’s pretty good! Got a big, thick bunch for $2. The couscous was from a small bag I bought at Trader Joe’s last year, so I figured that it was about time I finished it off. It would be pretty easy to put together from individual bulk ingredients: pearl couscous, red quinoa, orzo, and a sprinkling of lentils. And unfortunately, the micro greens came in a clamshell. I hate those things like burning and store-bought micro greens are so expensive; I think I’ll take up sprouting.

The dressing was some kind of combination of lime juice, sour cream, olive oil, cider vinegar, honey, salt and pepper. It’s not so great. I’m at a relative’s house right now, so I used sour cream from a plastic tub, but if I were home I would have used my labneh.

This salad was  very filling, and I had enough left over to make a good helping of jar salad for later.

One of the things I’m learning is that you can pretty much throw together any cooked/soaked/sprouted grain into a pile of veggies and it’ll turn out amazing.

