Almond Milk and Then Some

So you may or may not have noticed that my changed the blog’s theme– the other one, I decided, was just too darn narrow and wasted a lot of page real estate. So this one’s wider! Yay!

Anyways, here are my prettyiful progress pictures of me making the almond milk (which turned out great), and a little something extra with the leftover pulp.

1 c. almonds (soaked overnight) and 3 c. water in the blender…

The resultant mixture poured into my straining bag after a few minutes of blending…

Squeeeeeze!

The finished almond milk with the leftover pulp. Don’t throw that stuff away; it’s nutty gold! Here’s what you can do with it…

Here’s the almond meal I made from the pulp. I spread the pulp out on a baking sheet and toasted it in the oven at the lowest setting for an hour or two, and then stuck it in the blender again. Voila. Oh, and this stuff smells amazing all by itself.

Almond meal, peanut butter, cocoa powder, honey, agave, flax seeds, and chocolate chips. Just eyeball the quantities; you want it just wet enough to hold together, because…

…you’re gonna roll them into little balls! I made mine about an inch or so across, enough to be about two bites-worth.

Chill em in the freezer until mostly solid (or fridge to achieve the same more slowly), and enjoy! (Omg they’re so good.)

Oh, and why in the heck are they in a plastic container in that last picture, you might be wondering? Well, while they were chilling, I decided to make myself a drink and reached for the freshly washed mason jar because I was too lazy to go upstairs and grab my cup. And yes, my jar collection is still just barely hitting the double-digits, so there aren’t many to go around.

 

2 thoughts on “Almond Milk and Then Some

  1. This is amazing, thanks so much for your post! I had seen a few recipes for making your own nut milks but I kind of though “yea right, nutty water?” but your photos prove me wrong! I’m going to give this a go this week :)

    Like

    • I love me some dairy, but I love me some almond milk even more. There’s just something really awesome about being able to just -make- your own milk as needed and not have to worry about it going rancid and so on. (It’s the same reason I get a real thrill out of “making” my own eggs out of ground flax seed.)

      Besides, you really can’t beat it when it comes to cereal, oatmeal, and baking.

      Have fun giving it a go!

      Like

Comments are closed.