ZW Muffins

I made a batch of these this morning and they came out uh-may-zing. Definitely getting filed away as a staple recipe! I didn’t take any pictures of mine because I was too busy eating them (and yes, they’re heaven with a schmear of honey on top), but they came out looking exactly like Jordan’s, so I’ll just let you ogle her pics instead. Recipe from The Fitchen:

30 Minute Vegan and Gluten-Free Muffins

30-Minute Vegan and Gluten Free Muffins

  • ¼ cup cane sugar (I used brown sugar)
  • 2 tablespoons coconut butter (just used whatever vegan butter I had on-hand)
  • 2 flax eggs [2 tablespoons flax meal + 6 tablespoons water –allow to thicken for 3-4 minutes]
  • 1 cup gluten-free flour mix (I used 3/4 c. gluten-full flour and 1/4 c. almond meal instead– glutinous flour thickens, obvs, so I had to add more milk)
  • ¼ teaspoon sea salt
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • ½ cup coconut milk (I used my homemade almond milk)
  • ½ teaspoon vanilla (I used my homemade vanilla)
  • rolled oats for topping
  1. Preheat oven to 350º.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, cream together sugar and coconut butter. Once flax eggs have set-up, lightly beat them in.
  3. In a separate bowl, mix together flour, salt, and baking powder. Slowly pour the dry mixture into the wet mixture along with the vanilla and combine.
  4. Sprinkle with rolled oats and a pinch of sugar.
  5. Fill 8 muffin cups ⅔ full with the batter and bake for 20 minutes.
NOTES
If you’re a batter taster [like me], you might notice that this batter doesn’t taste very sweet pre-baking. Have faith! When they come out of the oven, they’re just right. Sweet, but not too sweet. A good drizzle of honey or agave, or even a slather of coconut butter turn these into a treat. But as is, they’re also great for a running-out-the-door breakfast or a tasty road trip snack. If desired, you could fold in ⅓ – ½ cup of blueberries, raspberries, or whatever kind of berries you happen to dig.
(My batter was very sweet, almost cup-cakey. Due to using brown sugar probably? I also didn’t use liners as I hate those things. Just greased up the cupcake tin instead.)

 

3 thoughts on “ZW Muffins

  1. Thanks…Im looking for vegan, family orientated, easy to cook recipes….fires on. Afternoon tea. (perhaps dinner deserts)

    Like

Comments are closed.