Self-Repair is Radical

This was a poster that was hanging up at a local electronics repair joint here in Vancouver. (It recently was voted best computer repair shop in the city!)

I really am digging the last point, though: if you can’t fix it, you don’t own it. This is the way I’ve felt about computers my whole life. I grew up around tech junkies who have been building their own computers for probably longer than I’ve been alive. It’s also why I’ve never felt comfortable with the idea of owning an Apple product: the warranty is void if you so much as take a peek inside! A computer that I build with my own hands and know-how, that I maintain and care for, and use day in and day out, is a special thing. It’s the new animal husbandry, in a way. That’s not to say that I shouldn’t take it to a professional when I need to–even the best horse whisperer needs the help of a vet sometimes–but I should know what’s what, the mechanics of things gone wrong, and where exactly my expertise ends. Consumerism wants the inner-workings of everything we buy, of the world we live in, to be opaque. Opacity makes things easier to commodify.

Anyways, today is my last day in Vancouver… it’s back to Los Angeles for now. More sustainability and zero waste talk to follow~

