#4Liters Pre-Game

Gallon jug of water? Check. 48oz nalgene water bottle that tells me exactly how much 1000mL is? check.

That’s it. That’s my pre-game.

Like I said, I wasn’t going to be going out of my way to change anything that I do– I want to try and live as normal of a day-to-day life as possible while only consuming a gallon of water every 24 hours. I want to see how hard, how frustrating, how stressful it is. But I also want to see what kinds of tiny changes I wind up making that makes drastic conservation so much easier than I thought. I expect to be using 4 things extensively throughout the next 7 days:

  • The aforementioned gallon jug
  • The aforementioned bottle
  • My plastic laundry bin/plastic tote thing
  • A 5 gallon bucket from Home Depot

The plan is this: I will allot myself roughly 2 liters of drinking water from the tap, and the other 2 will go directly into the big orange bucket, which will be cleaned, to store for later use. This is where I’ll be getting my water for all utilitarian needs: cleaning, bathing, cooking. The plastic tote bin thing will be for doing laundry in and bathing out of, with the help of a cup. I will probably wash clothes using the water I’d washed my hair with, and after that I’ll probably set it aside for other needs like hand washing or cleaning non-clothes. (Being familiar with the intricacies of grey and black water systems–though “black water” really just refers to waste water/sewage–helps with planning out the logistics of this, aka, when the water will be viable for what task.)

Here’s what I predict my water cleanliness scale might look like:

Potable Water (one-use)

  • Brushing teeth
  • Cooking
  • Drinking

Gray Water (can be reused 1-2 times)

  • Bathing
  • Laundry
  • Watering Plants
  • Dishes: rinsing

Not-Quite-Black Water (can be reused 3-5 times)

  • Cleaning
  • Dishes: washing

I’ll probably be writing up a summary at the end of each day, outlining what I did, what problems needed solving and how I solved them (or didn’t), and what I learned. I have no phone right now, so that means no pictures, unfortunately… I may draw some, though!

One thought on “#4Liters Pre-Game

Comments are closed.