#4Liters Day 2

I have a phone again! So here’s a few pictures this time.

Today I woke up and took my pills: one supplement and one Rx. For a couple of years now I’ve been taking Black Cohosh every day to alleviate night sweats. For some reason, the BC didn’t seem to work for me last night and I wound up with sweats anyway, which was probably the reason for me waking up so dehydrated. Which, while taking the challenge (or actually being water-poor), is not a situation you want to be in. It’s like Les Stroud says:

You sweat, you die.

So I wake up with cotton mouth and a headache because I’d wrung myself out like a sponge all night. Like at that episode of Spongebob. You know, this one:

Anyways, not a great start to my day, is what I figured. Fortunately for me, that was not the case! In fact, I managed to make pretty good use of my water for the day even though I’m currently cutting it very close as I get ready for bed here.

First thing I did was water my beets– they’re in full sun, now, and have to be watered more than last month. Next up was a bit of laundry and a bath.

So above is my 5 gallon Home Depot bucket and my set of “nesting plastic tote bin things”. I have no idea what to call them because the plastic is floppy enough to bring the handles together and carry like a tote bag, but it also holds its shape. There are two of the tote-bins there, nested.The top one has holes drilled into the bottom to make washing clothes way super easy.

I fill up the bottom tote-bin with about 2 liters of water from the orange bucket. This is after I “bathed” and am about ready to throw the clothes in. Normally the water would be dirtier-looking than this, but I didn’t wash my hair so no soap was used except for my face.  (I rarely ever use body soap because it dries me out.)

And this is what it looked like after all my clothes had finally gotten saturated. There wasn’t actually enough water in there for the fabric to even soak up; I had to add another half liter or so. At this point, I just started agitating the laundry as best I could without being able to use my breathing hand washer. I sort of kneaded it like dough, punching down to move the water through the fibers. I wrung each one out a bit, scrubbed the undies, and did a little more agitating before wringing out each one, hanging them to dry outside, and reserving the water for later.

After this, I went downstairs for some lunch and realized that I had no almond milk to make a protein shake with. I’d been soaking almonds for a few days in the fridge at that point, so all I had to do was blend them up with… some water. Right. This was important stuff for me, though, so I sacrificed a whole 3 cups of water to make milk with.

I got a ride about then to go grab my bike from my mom’s place, who lives a few miles away, and rode the bike home in ~80F heat, sweating quite a bit by the time I got home. I drank a good bit of water after that.

Some time later in the afternoon, I went on a walk with my mom around the neighborhood near the Huntington Library, and had some more water. At that point I was sure I’d run out before the day was over, but I got lucky again. I’d gotten notified that I had a free Starbucks birthday drink to redeem, and satisfied a good amount of my daily water needs from the coffee I got. Cheating? Yes. Not going to deny it.

When I got home after running some errands, I had just enough water left (plus a little more for sipping) to make some pasta. PASTA. Granted, I used the least amount of water that I’ve ever used for boiling pasta; I had to stir a few times to keep the shells from sticking to anything and to make sure they were cooking evenly in the shallow liquid. But I pulled it off, and wound up tossing them with some random veggies and topping it all off with heaping piles of DIY vegan parmeasan (cashews, almond meal, nutritional yeast flakes, and salt in a blender).

Anyways, I’m off to bed now. Wish me luck with the sweats. :P

Today’s takeaway: Dishes don’t need cleaning quite as extensively as you think they do. Sometimes all they need is a good wipe-down. Oh, and cooking with oil guarantees a need for lots of water-based clean-up. Try to avoid cooking with oil when you don’t have much water. BUT, if you do, be sure to use a cast iron skillet– you’re not supposed to wash those anyways. Just wipe down with a damp cloth, and any remaining residue just becomes part of the “seasoning”. I’m seriously beginning to reconsider my “need” for any kind of skillet OTHER than cast iron.

2 thoughts on “#4Liters Day 2

    • Really? Hm, now that you mention it, most of what I drink as “coffee” consists of Starbucks’ via packets, which my body seems to respond to a bit more like tea than coffee. I also only drink decaf, so maybe that has to do with the diuretic effect. You’ve got me curious now too :o

      Like

Comments are closed.