Low Carb/Paleo, ZW, and Vegan Pizza Crust (yes, really)

Came up with this on the fly today, and it’s really good! Super-dense and slightly nutty in flavor, but it still gets thin and crispy like traditional pizza dough.

The only problem is… I don’t remember the exact measurements! I eyeballed everything, so I’ll try to approximate…

Ingredients

  • 1/2 c. almond meal
  • 1/2 c. sorghum flour (if you’re familiar with coconut flour, you can probably sub)
  • 1/2 c. grated parmesan cheese
  • 1/4 c. flax meal
  • 2 ener-g eggs (or real eggs if paleo)
  • 2 tbsp. olive oil
  • 2 tbsp. nutritional yeast (optional)
  • pinch of salt or two

This should make about a 10″ diameter pizza with about 1/4″ thickness. Mix all ingredients until a doughy consistency forms; not too wet, not too dry. It should hold shape when squeezed. If too wet, add more flour/meal. If too dry, add a tiny it of water.

When shaped, toss in the oven at about 400F for a few minutes, or until the edges just start to brown. Pull out, throw on toppings, then put it back in for about 10 or so minutes. Enjoy!

As I’m eating the pizza (yes, I’m finishing it up as I type this), I can see that this would make for killer breadsticks (on the smaller, flatter side), or crackers, or…

One thought on “Low Carb/Paleo, ZW, and Vegan Pizza Crust (yes, really)

Comments are closed.