Biycling 101

Seeing as how May is National Bike Month in the states, I thought I’d space out these old guides between today and next thursday in lieu of a general Throwback Thursday. Cheers and happy pedaling!

Zero Waste Millennial

Bicycling! The environmentalist’s wet dream– and with good reason, too. Studies say bicycling regularly helps you sleep better, get sick less often, you inhale less pollution than passengers in cars and buses, and that riders get approximately 3,000 miles to the “gallon”. I don’t believe a more energy efficient vehicle even exists.

As some of you know, I don’t have a car. In fact, I don’t even have a license yet. (I will be getting that this year, but I don’t expect to be using it much.) Now, the real reason is that I can’t afford a car, but the point is that I don’t care. There isn’t a single fantasy of adulthood that I’ve had, aside from roadtrips, that featured me owning a vehicle. Cars are expensive, high-maintenance, gross, and more trouble than they’re worth, in my opinion, and so long as I’m in an urban area I don’t ever expect…

View original post 139 more words

