Cooking with Scraps from Food 52

I love Food 52. I don’t know how I originally discovered it, I don’t know what the 52 means, and I definitely don’t know whether I’ll ever be able to afford anything from their online store (I’d kill for that whetstone…).

What I do know is that it is a fantastic resources for foodies and zero-wasters like me.

Since “moving in” with my Canadian partner almost 3 months ago, I’ve come to realize that many of my go-to meals that I’d been using for several years before suddenly aren’t all that useful. What I mean is that me, being raised in a Latino household (or several of them, really) in Southern California has given me a completely different idea of what comfort food is, and it’s given me a special appreciation for certain ingredients. While on the other hand, my husband, being raised on steak and potatoes in the suburbs of what he calls “Canada’s Texas”, has a vastly different idea of what a good meal is. Add to that the fact that I have a really poor sense of smell while he has an exceptional one, and many things that I find to be essential to a basic meal (strong aromatics, onions, peppers, fresh herbs), are sometimes unpalatable to him. And then there’s the fact that I’m practically vegan up here because dairy and eggs are so darned expensive, and…

Well, you get the idea.

The point is that I’m having to get creative unless I don’t mind resorting to PBnJ’s for dinner. Which I do mind. A lot. (We generally try to stay away from wheat and bread as often as possible. It’s bad for my hypoglycemia, and it’s bad for his metabolism.) And ordering pizza gets damn expensive.

So, kitchen burnout happens. And when I need ideas, I turn to sites like Food 52. Here are some of my favorite finds:

In addition to recipes, the site has a good number of articles on what to do with scraps or otherwise inedible plant leftovers.  I think you can all agree with me that kitchen waste sucks.

PS- My favorite recipe organizing app for the Android thus far is Chef Tap. I tried a number of them on my iPhone, even one that cost me $5. But this one is, hands-down, the best so far. The tagging system is amazing, and no more having to find and look up recipes from only your phone, let alone from just the app’s database, because there’s a desktop-friendly site that lets you manage your recipes.

2 thoughts on “Cooking with Scraps from Food 52

Comments are closed.